Maybe not quite back to ‘normality’ yet…

At this moment, a quote from the first Hobbit movie springs to mind, one that will be turned into some sort of art project sooner or later……..

……………………………………………………………………………………

Gandalf: “Well, all good stories deserve embellishment. You’ll have a tale or two to tell of your own when you come back.”

Bilbo: “…Can you promise that I will come back?”

Gandalf: “No. And if you do… you will not be the same.”

……………………………………………………………………………………

So after a week or so of being back home…… well….. pretty much everything is exactly the same as when I left. Work is pretty much the same… my stuff is where I left it…. my car, my hedgehog… everything is all more or less the same…….

……….. although it doesn’t quite all feel quite the same here, but that’s probably due to me having changed since December than my stuff has….

The flight back was not one I’d care to repeat. It was a very light flight out of Heathrow, leaving me with a whole row to myself, but between being all emotional at leaving, which means eating is not really a possibility for me, and the airline’s food being even worse than usual (sorry, but artichoke bits mixed in with the cheese in the manicotti? What?!) and there being a fair amount of giggling around during the flight, I was very relieved when I finally touched down in Columbus late last Monday….

……. what I was surprised by was how I’d somehow forgotten how much stuff I have. After having just what I needed for the last couple months, coming back to so much stuff, most of which I can easily donate, or give away or trash without much deliberating, was a bit jarring. Sure there were some things I missed, things I wished I’d brought with me, but for the most part, I was more than content with what I had, so thinning things out over the next month or so is at the top of the ‘to do’ list.

In a couple weeks, with all possible limbs crossed, will be the time we’ll be applying for my visa, and if everything goes like I am fervently hoping it will, I will be back in the UK permanently with a new shiny visa by July of this year.

Hopefully, I’ll manage to luck out and get a meal without artichokes next time…

More words later!

One thought on “Maybe not quite back to ‘normality’ yet…

  1. Because it’s all just stuff and your heart now is much more full than before…..you’ll be back “home” before you know it. Until then, I’m gonna relish you being here as much as I can. I love this post….and what a perfect passage. Hugs. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

